san francisco, 2013

I had the good fortune to be asked to speak at a pediatric health conference in San Francisco in June.  Due to the childcare generosity of my parents, my husband Mike met up with me, and we spent four glorious adult nights in SF and Sonoma Valley.

IMG_2363The first night, I randomly ate crab at Lou’s Fish Shack on Fisherman’s Wharf.  I discovered that Fisherman’s Wharf has turned into the Times Square of San Francisco.  But that’s ok.

IMG_2358

It made sense to me to eat crab chowder out of a sourdough bread bowl.  I also ate the feet off of this sourdough turtle from Boudin Bakery.

IMG_2389The Ferry Building Marketplace is the best.
Cowgirl Creamery is a true delight.  I walked around there, sniffing cheese like a cheese perv.

IMG_2452I have a tradition of booking a food tour in every major city I visit.  This is a very clever way to eat my way through a new neighbourhood.  This time it was the Mission District, with Avital Tours.  Harley Adams was our entertaining culinary guide.  We drank bourbon early in the morning, slurped oysters at Hog and Rocks, happily consumed American artisan cheese at Mission Cheese, and licked salted caramel ice cream at Bi-Rite Creamery.  My favourite food was the empanadas at Venga Empanadas, which were hand-made by a heavily-tattooed gentleman in the hot sweaty kitchen in the back.

What was special about Avital Tours was that Harley had a friendly and authentic rapport with the owners and chefs of the food establishments.  I didn’t feel like an apologetic cheesy tourist, even once.

IMG_2405My husband, imbibing.

IMG_2381

Later that night, we joined up with the conference faculty at Slanted Door for a generous dinner for the speakers and organizers.  I have written about Slanted Door before.  Last time, I ate alone; this time I was in a crowd of 40, and was subject to a continuous loop of family-style food and red wine.  It was quite glorious.  Again, my favourite was the crab with cellophane noodles.

IMG_2416Then, we ventured up to Sonoma County for biscuits and gravy in breakfast in Sonoma at the Fremont Diner.  As recommended by Conan O’Brien:  Conan O’Brien ‏ Just had the best breakfast of my life. Sorry, Mom. http://bit.ly/1281Lzu   When Conan speaks, we listen.

IMG_2441Our last two days were spent in Healdsburg, at the drop dead gorgeous H2 Hotel.  Healdsburg is all wine tasting rooms, art galleries and boutique shops.  I LOVE THAT SHIT.  Anyhow, the eating is kind of blurred at this point, but I do recall a really good burrito at El Sombrero.   Then we reluctantly got up at 4 am and drove two hours to the airport and came home.
“San Francisco has only one drawback – ’tis hard to leave.” -Rudyard Kipling
20130622_132443_resizedMe and my love.
One thought on “san francisco, 2013

  1. codetechnology says:

    Also, I escaped to Mountain View to visit the Computer History Museum and walk around Google’s campus. Found my way to downtown and discovered a beer and burrito at Taqueria La Bamba on Castro Street. Estupendo!

Leave a Reply

